The Best Books I Read in 2023

Published in various years

Cindy Rizzo

--

Since I didn’t write any of my own books this year, I dedicated 2023 to reading other peoples’ books. All in all, I read 101 books; one more than my goal of 100. Most were Sapphic contemporary romance. But there were a fair amount of Young Adult, Historical, and Jewish books.

The following 20 books are the best ones I read. I define “best” as having overall strong writing, well developed and interesting characters, detailed research (for historical), great setting portrayal, and, in some cases, new creative ideas. In sum, the best books are those in which I was heavily engaged as a reader.

Here they are:

Series

A strong first book in a series (defined as books that continue the story of the lead or main characters) will make me want to read what comes next.

The Shadow series by J.E. Leak concluded in 2023 with In The Shadow of Victory, which completed the WWII adventures and romance of Jenny and Kathryn, spies who first meet when Jenny is trying to solve her father’s murder. The intensity of this final book is off the charts. But you have to start with book 1, In The Shadow of the Past to be able to follow.

Heroine of Her Own Life by Constance Emmett is the first of two books, set in Northern…

--

--

Cindy Rizzo

Is a NYC Jewish lesbian, a long-time activist for social & racial justice, a queer in philanthropy, & a writer about all things LGBT plus lesbian romance.